I randomly woke up at midnight and, as I’ve gotten accustomed to doing, I turned my flashlight on and looked under my covers to see if there was anything on them, and my eye caught a dark spot moving on my bed frame.  It was a bedbug that had just eaten, so it was big.  I had a small heart attack, then got a wet paper towel and smashed it, and put it in a ziploc bag because they’re flat to begin with so they don’t really die from smashing.  I triple bagged it and put it in a tupperware container, because I’m terrified of it, but I wanted pest control to have proof.  Then I cried like Ellie when she ran away from the Velociraptors and shut the gate in Jurassic Park.

I don’t know whether it’s the only one, or whether there are more–I have no idea where it came from.  And even though part of me is relieved that I actually caught one and it won’t bite me anymore and I know what it is for sure now, I’m also a wreck because bedbugs are pains in the ass to get rid of and I don’t know what I’ll have to go through to do it–whether I’ll need to take any time off of work to be here while my room is treated, or whether it will take multiple cycles of pest control to get rid of these fuckers.

I’m also terrified to get back in my bed.  It was horrible enough before I actually saw one, but now that I know what they look like and also know that for sure this is what’s in my room, I’m terrified of my bed.  It’s 1am and I’m trying to figure out whether I can sleep any more tonight.  I’ve e-mailed the managers and asked whether one of the real estate company’s nearby hotels might have a discounted room for me to sleep in until my room has been treated… I don’t mind being here during the day, since they only come out at night, but I’m scared shitless of my bed right now.

UGHHHHHHHHH

Leave a Reply

